How did ben ten get his powers?

In the cartoon Ben 10, the titular character stumbles upon an alien device called the Omnitrix during a family vacation in the woods. The wristwatch-like device contains the DNA of 10 different alien species. Using the Omnitrix, Ben can transform into these aliens, each with specific abilities.