Why are white people called caucasian?

The term Caucasian was first introduced in the 1780's to indicate one of 3 major races, by the Gottingen School of History. In it's original usage it indicates people believed to originate from the Caucasus Mountains. Not all of these people were light skinned. In the U S it has come to mean white.