What is tales of the crypt?

Tales from the Crypt is a collection of horror stories based on the gruesome E.C. comic books of the 1950s presented by the legendary Crypt Keeper, a sinister ghoul obsessed with gallows humor and horrific puns. The television series ran from June 10, 1989 to July 19, 1996 on HBO.