Why is crab so expensive?

Crab is expensive because it is harvested seasonally. Crabs can be caught all year, but become inactive, and therefore more difficult to catch in winter when water temperature falls below 50-55 degrees. The best time of year to harvest large, heavy crabs is usually from October to December.