How strong is a pit bull bite?

According to some sources, a Pitt bull’s bite strength is around 235 pounds. Compare this to the bite strength of lions or white sharks at 600 pounds, the bone crushing hyena at around 1000 pounds, or the Nile alligator at just under 2500 pounds. Humans register at only 120 pounds of bite force.