Is magma a liquid?

Yes. It is rock in melted form. A lot depends on the magma's rock composition. Rhyolite produces a very fluid fast moving lava, the most dangerous, Yellowstone lava. Basalt produces a thicker fluid, like the Hawaii flows. When magma hits the surface it is called lava.