How do you know when papaya is ripe?

Check the color. The skin of a ripe papaya ranges from yellow to orange-red. A few green spots are fine, especially since the papaya will ripen rapidly at home. A ripe papaya should have a light, sweet smell. Squeeze gently; a hard papaya is not ripe; mushy spots or shriveled areas is overripe.