What is gun shy mean?

The word "to shy" means (especially of a horse) to start suddenly aside in fright at an object, noise, or movement. If a horse startled at a gunshot, it was called a gun-shy horse. Hunters & soldiers didn't need to be riding gun-shy horses. Nowadays, it's slang for any nervous person.