Why isn't a strawberry a berry?

Scientifically, strawberries - and similarly, raspberries - aren't really berries because they are derived from a single flower with more than one ovary, making them an aggregate fruit. True berries are simple fruits stemming from one flower with one ovary and typically have several seeds.