Is the man in the iron mask based on a true story?

An unidentified prisoner was arrested in France around 16 70 , Held in various French prisons, guarded by the same jailor, it is said that the prisoner wore either a velvet cloth or an iron mask to hide his identity (which despite much speculation is unknown). The man died in prison after 34 years