How much is a pinch in cooking?

In cooking, a pinch is about one eighth of a teaspoon

---

A pinch of an ingredient (usually a powdery or finely ground substance like salt , spices, or dried herbs) is the tiny bit your pick up between the tip of your index finger and thumb. If you were to measure a pinch, it would be between one 16th and one 8th of a teaspoon.