What happens when you beat the ender dragon?

Upon defeat, the Ender dragon will slowly ascend and slowly disappear. There's an explosion of 12,000 experience points – enough to bring a player from level 0 to level 68. A Dragon Egg is also spawned above the island's central bedrock structure.