Who was rosebud in the movie citizen kane?

In the movie Citizen Kane, Rosebud was the name of Kane's childhood sled.

---

The device of the picture calls for a newspaperman to interview people who knew him very well. None had ever heard of "Rosebud." Actually, as it turns out, "Rosebud" is the trade name of a cheap little sled on which Kane was playing on the day he was taken away from his home and his mother.