Why is a hot dog classified as a sandwich?

According to the National Hotdog and Sausage Council, the hot dog is not a sandwich. The Council’s official statement is, “A hotdog is an exclamation of joy, a food, a verb describing one showing off, and even an emoji. A hotdog is truly unto a category of it’s own.”