Why do you cry when you cut onions?

Onions emit a gas that is noxious to tear ducts

---

Cutting an onion opens up its cells, allowing enzymes normally kept separate to mix. This chemical reaction releases one of two gases, syn-propanethial-S-oxide or lachrymatory factor, which irritate the eyes. Your body responds to this irritation by increasing production of tears.

---

Onions produce the chemical irritant known as syn-propanethial-S-oxide. It stimulates the eyes' lachrymal glands so they release tears.

---

Onions produce the chemical irritant known as syn-propanethial-S-oxide. It stimulates the eyes' lachrymal glands so they release tears.

---

In English, The juices and oils from the onion act like acid when they come into contact with the moisture in your eye to essentially turn into sulfuric acid like mild concentration that therefore burn your eyes. Overtime if you cut a lot of them your body will get used to it.