Why do they call the funny bone the funny bone?

When you hit your funny bone, you are in fact hitting the ulnar nerve against the upper bone in your arm. That upper bone is known as the humerus, spelled h u m e r u s. So the term funny bone is a play on the words humerus - the bone - and humorous - h u m o r o u s - funny.