Why do they call a baker's dozen?

It's widely believed to originate from medieval English bakers giving an extra loaf when selling a dozen in order to avoid being penalized for selling short weight. At the time, British breadmakers who short changed their customers with skimpy loaves would be flogged or serve jail time.