How long do animals sleep?

Animal sleep duration varies according to the needs of the species. An elephant sleeps just 2 hours per day, while a sloth sleeps 20 hours. The pygmy shrew sleeps only a minute or two at a time due to its need to eat every 15-20 minutes. An hour-long nap would mean death by starvation.