What kind of alcohol do you put in eggnog?

While brandy is the most traditional add-in for eggnog, according to traditional recipes, the experts at Bottles recommend a mixture of dark rum and Cognac. You can also add bourbon, though Bottles recommends sticking to rum and Cognac to preserve the 'nog's flavors.