Why do we need hearts?

The heart performs the major work of circulating oxygenated blood. While the arteries also circulate blood, they are not as powerful as the heart, so blood would not circulate fast enough with just them. The lymph system circulates other fluids passively, so is also unable to oxygenate the body.