How many piles do you make in solitaire?

There are four different types of piles in Solitaire: The Tableau: Seven piles that make up the main table. The Foundations: Four piles on which a whole suit or sequence must be built up. In most Solitaire games, the four aces are the bottom card or base of the foundations.