What is epicurean philosophy?

Epicureans argue that pleasure is the highest good in life, but overindulgence can detract from pleasure, so pursuit of the highest quality of pleasures, especially pleasures of the mind, is ideal. They contended with skeptical Platonism and logical Stoicism in Ancient Greece.