What's the butterscotch?

Butterscotch is built on brown sugar instead of white. The addition of molasses gives brown sugar darker color and deeper flavor. Plus, butterscotch is most commonly made by melting brown sugar with butter (rather than on its own), which helps the granules to dissolve evenly and melt gently.