How did october fest originate?

King Ludwig I married Princess Therese of Saxe-Hildburghausen on 12 October 1810. The citizens of Munich were invited to attend the festivities held on the fields in front of the city gates to celebrate the royal event. This became an annual event, which we now call Octoberfest.