Why do people hiccup?

Hiccups are bursts of inspiratory activity. Most simple cases of hiccupscome after eating or drinking too much or too quickly. The stomach, which is situated right below the diaphragm, becomes distended and irritates it. This will cause the diaphragm to contract, as it does when we breathe in.