What was the hatfield and mccoy feud about?

The feud all began in 1864 when Confederate soldiers Devil Anse Hatfield and Jim Vance, cousin of Devil Anse, murdered former Union soldier Asa Harmon McCoy because they believed McCoy was responsible for the shooting of a friend of his during the war.