When do horse flies go away?

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but horseflies don't really leave until you get a good hard freeze. Repellents containing DEET, citronella, or geraniol are effective against horse flies. Using a repellent along with wearing long sleeves and long pants is the most effective way to prevent bites.