What can i substitute for shortening in banana bread?

Margarine and butter can both be used as a substitute for shortening, though moisture contents should be taken into consideration before making the swap. Shortening is 100% fat, margarine and butter contain asmall percentage of water (so, shortening adds more fat, thus more richness and tenderness).