What do you call someone who plays the flute?

A person who plays the flute is called a flautist.

---

A person who plays a flute is called a flautist.

---

Someone who plays the flute is called a floutist.

---

A flutist.

---

For the noun denoting a person who plays the flute, Americans usually use flutist. In varieties of English from outside North America, flautist is more common.

---

Flutist! In Brazil, they are called "flautista"