How many thousand dollar bills are there?

The Federal Reserve began taking high-denomination currency out of circulation in 1969. As of May 30, 2009, only 336 $10,000 bills were known to exist; 342 remaining $5,000 bills; and 165,372 remaining $1,000 bills.