Who's the villain in encounter?

Riz Ahmed's Malik kidnapped his two sons Jay and Bobby and went on a road trip to the Vegas desert to hide out as he thought aliens were infecting people, including the boys' mother However, Jay soon discovered Malik held a dark secret too, which made it seem like he'd become the tyrant of the movie