How many people in america make over four hundred thousand dollars a year?

According to the IRS, a $400,000 or more annual household income represents America’s top 1.8% income-earners. Per IRS Publication 6292, there were 154 million tax returns filed in 2019, thus approximately 2.8 million people earn over $400,000.