When do you plant tomato plants?

Tomatoes are a warm-season crop and are usually grown as summer annuals. Tomato seeds should be started indoors between March to June. To start, plant the tomato seeds indoors in small pots 3 to 4 inch deep or seed starting trays about ¼ inches deep in moderately fertile soil.