What is the biggest star known to man?

Estimates put the star VY Canis Majoris between 1400 and 2000 times our sun's diameter. It's a red hypergiant 3900 light-years away. Other stars, like Westerlund 1-26 and KY Cygni may be larger but we're not sure. Measuring stars is hard because they change in size and don't have a solid surface.