Is there a difference between canola and vegetable oil?

The main difference between the two oils is the saturated fat content. Canola oil has a higher ratio of monounsaturated fat (a potentially heart-healthy fat) to saturated fat than many vegetable oils. Canola oil has a smoke point of 400 degrees, and vegetable oil can reach 450 degrees.