Why do guinea pigs not have tails?

Guinea pigs don't need a tail as they don't need one for balance or grip; their natural habitat is fairly flat, and they might use burrows built by other animals. They might occasionally jump, but they don't do much in the way of climbing as the environment doesn't make it necessary.