Are dogs part wolf?

Dogs were originally bred from wolves which had been somewhat domesticated. Over the millennia, dogs were bred for specific tasks, such as hunting, retrieving, going after varmints down holes, and intimately, some for show. But they all descend from wolves, and share a high percentage of their DNA.