Why do betta fish make bubble nests?

One of the most common reasons why Betta fish make these nests is to attract females. When a male Betta fish blows a bubble nest, it is usually trying to attract a female mate. The bigger and more elaborate the bubble nest, the more likely it is that the male Betta fish will be able to find a mate.