What is the definition of a lay?

To lay, as a verb, means to put down, especially gently or carefully. As a noun, it means the general appearance of an area, including the direction of streams, hills, and similar features as in "the lay of the land." It is not to be confused with lie. A person lies down but you lay objects down.