What is a patronum?

In the Harry Potter books and movies, The Patronus Charm is a defensive spell which produces a silver, animal guardian, used to protect a witch or wizard against Dementors.

---

Expecto Patronum, the spell that conjured up Harry's magnificent stag Patronus, roughly translates into 'I expect (or await) a guardian' in Latin, which is apt. ... In Ancient Rome, the word 'patronus' meant protector, too, but with very different connotations.