What is a big extinct bird?

An example of an extinct bird, is the elephant bird (Vorombe) of Madagascar, whose closest living relative is the kiwi. Elephant birds exceeded 9.8 ft in height, weighed over 1,100 lb, and are estimated to have become extinct approximately 1,000 years ago.