What is john paul getty the third kidnapped?

John Paul Getty III was kidnapped by the Italian mafia in Calabria and a ransom was paid for his release after negotiations with his grandfather and the kidnappers at a reduced rate of 2.2 million dollars or 12.7 million in 2019 dollars.