How many milligrams of sodium should an adult have each day?

The American Heart Association recommends no more than 2,300 mg. Americans eat on average about 3,400 mg of sodium per day. However, the Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommends adults limit sodium intake to less than 2,300 mg per day.