How do you get a vaulting pole in animal crossing?

To get the vaulting pole you'll need to talk to Blathers, who won't show until you kick off the process of building the islands Museum. Once the museum is built talk to Blathers and he will give you the Vaulting Pole recipe – the reason being that he wants you to collect fossils for his collection.