What country settled the bahamas?

The Bahamas is an independent country that is part of the Commonwealth, having gained its independence from Britain in 1973.

---

The Bahamas were under British rule for 325 years before becoming a sovereign nation on July 10, 1973. The Lucayans were the original inhabitants of The Bahamas.