What kind of tree does a hazelnut come from?

Hazelnuts or Filbert nuts come from various species of trees belonging to the genus "Corylus", such as "Corylus colurna" but mainly "Corylus avellana". The common term in English for these various species of trees is simply Hazelnut tree.