Can you give melatonin to dogs?

According to 1 800 PetMeds, "Melatonin is safe for dogs at the right dosage. Like any other supplement or medication, it's always best to talk to your veterinarian before giving it to your pet. Avoid giving melatonin to pregnant dogs and puppies under 12 weeks old."