Where does vanilla flavoring come from?

Vanilla is the only fruit-bearing member of the orchid family. The vanilla beans are native to the New World and grow from Mexico to Brazil. It was prized by the Aztecs who used to flavor their chocolate drinks. Artificial vanilla is produced from synthetic Lignin, a by-product of paper production