Why is iceberg lettuce called iceberg lettuce?

Introduced for commercial production in the late 1940s, Iceberg (or crisphead) lettuce was the only variety bred to survive cross-country travel. The name Iceberg comes from the piles of ice they would pack the light green lettuce heads in before the advent of the refrigerated train car.