What happened during the battle for messines?

The 1917 Battle of Messines was an attack by the British Second Army, on the Western Front, near the village of Messines in West Flanders, Belgium, during World War 1. The attack forced the Germans to move reserves to Flanders from the Arras and Aisne fronts, relieving pressure on the French.